Beauty / The Sparkle: Edit

Inspired Spackle: Lily Collins

Lily_Collins_Makeup_Tutorial_Eyebrows_Sparkle_and_SpackleLily_Collins_Makeup_Tutorial_Eyebrows_Sparkle_and_SpackleI settled down in front of Netflix last night, a cuppa in hand and three blankets (at hand) for the weekly ‘me-time’. As I’m currently reading my way through Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series, I scrolled to a halt at Stuck in Love staring the ever-charming beaut that is Lily Collins. The film was great, but more importantly, as it drew to an end I remember watching lovely Suzie of Hello October doing a Lily Collins inspired makeup tutorial. Her tutorial went live months back but in aid of research I headed to google for some reference images and struck upon the one above. Unfortunately I didn’t refer back to it as I was doing my makeup but, I believe I got the jist of miss Collins look pat-down. Here’s how:

Lily’s skin is always picture-perfect. Fact. Crossing somewhere between airbrushed and completely natural? To even out my own texture and make the foundation not cling to any pesky dry patches, I applied Laura Mercier Foundation Primer, [£29; full size]. Nars Sheer Glow, [£32] in Deauville is my base product of choice, the result mimicking the coverage and weight of Collins complexion. The name’s a tad misleading as the foundation is far from sheer (it’s medium-buildable), nor is it especially glowy. BUT, what it does do is provide a sheer glow. The texture and blendability is perfect, but Lily’s skin is decidedly glowy, therefore I mixed in a blob of L’oreal Lumi Magique Primer, [£9.99] on the back of my hand before blending with my Louise Young LY34 brush and buffing to a seamless finish with the Real Techniques Buffing brush. Achieving her well-sculpted features is something left for my dreams, but I made an attempt at some cheekbones and standard nose-slimming-action using Kevyn Aucoin The Sculpting Powder, [£33] in Medium. Usually there’s a hint of a pink-ish toned blush on her cheeks but this was one of the few photos I found where its leaning towards orange. I say leaning towards, because my fave healthy flush with subtle coral undertone is found in Urban Decay Naked Flushed Palette, [£22.50] in Streak.

Lily’s Eyes are a show that she’s a girl after my own heart – neutral colours all the way! With such amazing eyes, I guess there’s not much need to enhance them but for those of us who are far from blessed in that department; Warming up the socket with Cork and defining further with a very light sweep of Espresso, both MAC [£10; each], in the outer third of the eye helps create that definition. I rarely use eyeliner of any colour on my waterline but Rimmel ScandalEyes Waterproof Khol liner, [£3.99] in Nude really made my tired ol’ peeps pop.

Last but not least, the three things that really nailed it when it came to Collins look; a quick press with the eyelash curler before L’Oreal Miss Manga Meg Volume Mascara, [£8.99] in waterproof. Then L’Oreal Brow Artiste Eyebrow Pencil, [£5.49] in Dark Brunette and NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil [£19] in Iberico* Fluttery lashes, full brows and bold lip- check, check, check!
I absolutely adore this look. When you really get down to the nitty-gritty, it’s a look without powder (somehow also concealer?), or tricky eyeliners… It’s minimal with hits of colour, simples!

*Iberico is a Limited Edition Velvet Matte Lip Pencil that came in NARS Christmas 2014 holiday coffret. I originally felt a bit stodgy about featuring a limited edition product, but the shade is just perfect for this tutorial. If you’re looking for a similar shade ‘Red Square‘ is a gorgeous orange-toned bright red from the same range.
Leave a Reply

