Beauty / The Spackle

My Every Day Makeup Routine

My_Little_Box_UK_Sparkle_and_Spackle_Everyday_Makeup_Glowing_Skin_Chanel_Vitalumiere_Aqua_Tom_Ford_AddisonMy_Little_Box_UK_Sparkle_and_Spackle_Everyday_Makeup_Glowing_Skin_Chanel_Vitalumiere_Aqua_Tom_Ford_Addison
The title is pretty self-explanatory of what I wanted to share today. I thought I’d keep it simple, because the look sure is. Not to mention quick, to boot (I’m a mum after all!). But don’t be fooled, because the actual creation of this look have been all but unicorn pee and rainbows. It’s been a good half-decade or so in the making, finding products that I truly adore… whilst also ensuring that I love each of them separately (and even more so when layered together). If the above picture isn’t as self-explanatory as the posts title (I’m dubbing it EDMR btw!) the goal I’ve been working towards is nothing short of; light but perfected coverage, a luminous natural finish and long lasting without a visible powder blob in sight. Or, ‘a natural glow’ for short. So without further ‘ado, here’s my long- perfected/time coming EDMR.

The key to a perfectly luminous base is moisture; don’t be shy in injecting as much as you can. I love a good ol’ spritz, and this one from My Little Box (Beauty) January Edition is cooling, reviving and plain goodness rolled into one. The not-so-sheer amount of sheer base products follow, but rest assured; layering the teeniest-tiniest amount of each is where the magic comes from. It’s done in a minute and a half (yep, that includes setting time) with practice, trust me.
Let’s break it down like this; My all time favourite My Little Beauty product is a staple- Embelliseur Teint de Peche, a salmon coloured uber-hydrating formula that sinks into the skin, lightly evens and brightens the most dull of complexions. It’s a true tinted moisturiser that does what it says on the tin. Secondly, for extra luminosity and a hint of coverage I quickly mix L’oreal Lumi Magique Primer with Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Foundation in B20 on the back of my hand before blending with my trusty Louise Young L37 brush. A bit of NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Vanilla under the bags and over imperfections does the trick nicely, followed by a quick setting of Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light. I to make full use out of this palette by sweeping the palette-exclusive Incandescent Light over any high point of my face, and warming up my cheeks with the remaining Radiant Light.

The eye-area is a quick one… Boots No7 Stay Perfect Eyeshadow in Truffle over the lid, a quick lash curl followed by L’Oreal Miss Manga Mascara– and finishing with the Hourglass Arch Brow Pencil in Dark Brunette.

But the lips are even faster… With the Rimmel Exaggerate Lip Liner in East End Snob is a gorgeous vintage-rose colour that goes on creamily, dries to a matte finish and doesn’t budge. (I bought it because of the blogger-hyped resemblance to Charlotte Tilbury’s lip pencil in Pillowtalk?). A quick coat of my mini Tom Ford Lip Colour (Lips and Boys Collection) in Addison as my everyday-go-to and I’m ready to… well go-to-wherever. All in all, it’s a fifteen minute job that can easily be compressed or expanded depending on daily duties, but all in all it is what I’ve whittled my most used everyday products down to.

So there you have it; it’s the base I’ve been pulling out on every standard makeup-wearing day for close to six months! And if I may say so myself, I couldn’t be more chuffed with the outcome. It’s something quite extraordinary when products come together so well, like they’re having a party. on. my. face. And you’re all invited. So please let me know your EDMR products, what’s tried, tested and really work for you below…

Leave a Reply

