Beauty / The Spackle

The Red Lip Edit

Top_Red_Lipsticks_Loreal_Blakes_Red_Tom_Ford_Crimson_Noir_Nars_Cruella_Hourglass_Raven

Top_Red_Lipsticks_Loreal_Blakes_Red_Tom_Ford_Crimson_Noir_Nars_Cruella_Hourglass_Raven

Top_Red_Lipsticks_Loreal_Blakes_Red_Tom_Ford_Crimson_Noir_Nars_Cruella_Hourglass_Raven

Although we’ve long since set sail from the winter holiday, I will be the first one to put my hand up and say I’ve done things a bit differently in the seasonal lippie-department recently. Even though I’m longing for hot pinks this Spring (NARS Satin Lip Pencil in YU have been my a weekly go to!), my lips have definitely seen a complete daytime red-revival as of late. So without further ado’, here are my top grab-and-go reds that have all been slapped on due to their outstanding formulas…

Hourglass Femme Rouge Lipstick in Raven, [£22]. Starting off with the warmest of the bunch, Raven is a long(ish) lasting red lipstick with a hot orange base. The bullet’s sharp triangular shape make dead-easy work of criss-crossing the cupids bow whilst getting a precise and defined line. My go to shade last summer for evening drinks (it totally brightens any complexion!), it held up nicely and faded evenly but required a touch up or two to keep the original one-swipe opaqueness. One thing to keep in mind is the satin-finish that provides the staying power, sans extra hydration, but is easily combated with a lipbalm before initial application.

L’oreal Collection Exclusive in Bake’s Red, [£6.99]. If ordering this lipstick online, beware; the shade description on Boots’ website show Blake’s Red to be a dark burgundy (and the darkest of the bunch), whereas in real life this would be the perfect classic-red. Think screen-siren red from decades previous and this one’s your guy. The formula glides evenly, smoothing any lines and dry patched without being thick or creamy. No need to keep checking your chin for red streaks, which is a win in my books.

Tom Ford Lip Color in Crimson Noir, [£37]. I’m not sure how Mr. Ford’s done it; a rich and dark, deep red with blue undertones. I would call it burgundy if I’m being lazy, and if I’m not I’d name it a very unique dark mix of berries (I’m thinking blackberry with a hint of raspberries and a few blueberries thrown in for good measure?) Okay, so this is a pricey one indeed. I’m half ashamed to admit that I’m now, consequently, a proud owner of not one, not two, but three Tom Ford ‘Lip Colors’. Even though the price gives me a shudder each time this gem peeks out of my dressing table drawer, it’s the one to beat. Formula-wise it’s like the others; long lasting, but more so than the previous two, and that’s a whopping plus in my book. Oh no, I’m not stopping there- it differs in other areas too. The bullet is heftier, the packaging is sturdier (and dare I say far more beautiful?) but- it’s also extremely nourishing (courtesy of soja seed extract, Brazilian murumuru butter & chamomilla flower oil!). The latter is what blew this out of the water for me because it makes it such a pleasure to use. Did you see the word luxurious in that ramble? If you find yourself parting with some extra cash, the Tom Ford counter rarely disappoints.

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella [£19]. If Crimson Noir had you hooked but you prefer a matte lip with the easy-peasy application of a pen, an even longer lasting formula that will see you through countless of coffees (and even a burger, I’ll have you know) this is the one for you. When applied with similar opaqueness to Crimson Noir, Cruella is the closest dupe I’ve found. The above statements make this far easier to wear on a day-to-day basis, being the slap-on-and-go of dark lip colours, and subsequentally also my most reached for red of the bunch. It’s by far the most long lasting of my longer lasting lipsticks, but also the most drying. As always, it’s easily mended with a lip scrub and mask twice weekly… And at half the price of Crimson Noir, I never shudder when I have to get my sharpening on.

So there you have it, my top reds. I was originally going to make this a ‘Top Five’ and include Soap & Glory’s SuperCaliFragiLipstick in Man Trap. Although the formula is pretty kick-ass, it is an in between shade of the bunch and I’d rather leave the space open for a new recommendation; so spill, which red is your fave?

5 thoughts on “The Red Lip Edit

  1. Answer;
    I haven’t managed to finish it yet but this far it’s great, really worth reading! I might move to England in September, I’ll bring it then. 😉

    Got the L’oreal Collection Exclusive in J-Lo’s, really impressed, varade minsann hela julbuffen! x

    • Spice It Up is a gorgeous shade.
      I’m yet to try Revlon’s Adore (perhaps because I usually go for nudes like the ‘honey’ which I, well, adore! haha), Dubonnet have been on my wishlist for a while, so it’s lovely to hear from someone who recommends it.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment, I’m jotting these recommendations down I type! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

