The Spackle

My Makeup: The Golden Smoke, Campfire Edition

photo 2 (15)

So before I go on about how this makeup look reminds me of ‘summer nights in front of lakeside campfires with marshmallows and ice cold ones’- let’s face it, my face might as well be a painting of this animated scenario, non? I have a very vivid imagination. The nostalgic memories of summers ago has made this my most worn look this week (first posted on my instagram) so here’s to sharing, caring and all that

Even though the general spackle is sorta’ pushing the day-to-day boundaries of my usual makeup, I decided to keep the base as natural as it gets with L’oreal True Match Foundation in 102. Buffing it in with my MAC 187 brush in only the areas that needed coverage, i.e. nose, cheeks, chin… everywhere! The dark circle baddies were covered with a smidgen of Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in 02 Cool Medium to lighten and MAC Studio Finish Concealer in NW25 to correct and brighten. Lastly for the complexion I bronzed up with my trusted Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer before giving my lashes a quick curl. Moving onto the eyes, the usual MAC Eyeshadows in Cork and Espresso went onto the brows before picking up the Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette; Half Baked across the lid, Chopper in the crease and up towards the brow bone which is highlighted with Booty Call. – Actually, ‘Booty Call’ the heck out of your inner corners whilst you’re at it! And to finish up, Tease into the crease and darken the outer corner with Busted. Blend, blend, blend. To enhance the gradient in the shadows, and for some added drama, I like to apply one thorough coat of mascara before going back in with a second sweep on the outer half of the top-and bottom-lashes. I love how this always seem to open up the eyes and truly make them Pop. For lips I’ve been loving Rimmel’s Moisture Renew Lipstick in Heather Shimmer all this week. For this look I conducted a simple ‘apply lipstick – blot with tissue -reapply – blot again’, before infusing some further shine with the Maybelline Colour Sensational Lipgloss in Cashmere Rose.

There it is, this week’s most worn spackle narrated down to the very process. The Moisture Renew lipsticks go on very opaque, yet are seriously moisturising. It’s a cream finish which means they’re easy to work with- blot for a matte, long-lasting stain or when applied straight from the bullet I’d give it about a 2 hour wear before fading slowly and evenly. Although moisturising, they’re not a balm, so they won’t hydrate them on a deeper level. Like any lipstick the heavier formula can settle into creases- If you have very dry lips I’d give them a scrub before use! Now where’s that summer evening and campfire….

One thought on “My Makeup: The Golden Smoke, Campfire Edition

Leave a Reply

