The Sparkle: Edit

WKND POST: Travel Beauty Essentials

20140307-104910.jpg20140307-104855.jpg20140307-104810.jpg20140307-104757.jpgHAPPY FRIDAY BEAUTIFUL-S, for my first TWP I really can’t think of anything more suitable than a weekend beauty subject- and the fact that it comes in form of ‘Travel Essentials’ is just making me itch with excitement to get this post out there. I am jetting –a glam word to perk up my early start– off up North for the weekend. I would love to tell you that I am super-prepared with all that travelling entails but today’s honest truth comes in the form of ‘I am currently in mid-process of packing‘. With that statement over and done with, I figured that leaving it until the last minute would help me narrow down my essentials to, well quite frankly, the essentials! (Let’s pretend it’s based on a strategic plan rather than just pure laziness).

First off, the main beauty essentials for any weekend away would be skincare. Travelling, no matter how short a distance, always takes it’s toll on my skin. Equipped with tools for a refined and radiant complexion will help in cancelling out any nasty surprises (that comes with being on the move on crowded transports): oily T-zones from konkin’ luggage around, dry patches from dodgy train air-con’s and spots galore. The only prepping I did for this weekend was applying my once-weekly masks –Liquid Gold Smoothing and Perfecting followed by Balancing and Pore Refining- last night to give my skin the best possible start. With that (and my skin) cleared up, here’s what I will be bringing with me:

SKINCARE: Muslin Cloths, as these cloths take little space I will bring two for maximum hygiene over the weekend. My travel-sizes of the Alpha-H Triple Action Cleanser and Daily Essential Moisturiser SPF 50+ for daytime. Here I was also thinking of bringing the Micro Cleanse Exfoliant but as I used my masks last night the Balancing Moisturiser+Gentle Exfoliant (two in one, wa-heey!) will be all I need for an extra night-time treat. I’m transporting them wrapped up in the muslin cloths, tied with a fancy-schmancy ribbon for an extra luxe feel.

MAKEUP: As I only want to bring one foundation to not just keep the size of my beauty-bag down, but also to not mess too much with my skin, I’m keeping it light with my L’oreal True Match Foundation in 102, which I’m totally loving at the moment, and building the coverage with a concealer. My two favourites are Collection’s Lasting Perfection Concealer in 02 Cool Medium and/or NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Vanilla, both of which I’m hoping to pick up on the way (does this count as saving space?) as they need to be restocked in my beauty stash.
Benefit’s Stay Don’t Fray Primer, High Beam highlighter and mascara in Bad Gal in these super-cute mini sizes all come in Benefit’s Full Glam Ahead kit, perfect for travelling.
For my bronzer I will stick with Too Faced Chocolate Soleil in Chocolate whereas my lip colours will be in form of my YSL Rouge Volupte #33, MAC Lipglass in Florabundance and my all time favourite red lipstick in a creamy, satin opaque shade that I can’t remember the brand of; it’s rubbed off but I know I got it from Superdrug in a spur-of-the-moment haul last year. If you recognise it, give me a shout in the comments!
Update: I was just rummaging through Boots makeup aisle and found that it’s SLEEK True Colour lipstick in Vixen!

I believe that’s pretty much it…
What are your travel essentials or favourite mini-product recommendations? I’d love to know if there’s something you absolutely cannot forgo and perhaps try it out during my trip.
Actually, I’m adding MAC’s Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Medium to the mix, if needed I shall be scraping by, literally, as I’ve hit pan. Now I feel prepared for everything. Bring on the Oily-T-zone-Luggage-Konkin’ to the station…

Leave a Reply

