The Sparkle: Edit

SFW Beauty: 3 Steps to The Perfect Winged Eyeliner

jamie-sofia-johansson-sparklefromwords-blog-beauty-1

Hello lovelies, In my Friday Favourites post on How to have your most Stylish Valentine’s Day to Date my makeup pick was a classic winged eyeliner/cateye/feline flick. Today I present to you my daily eye-makeup ritual for the perfect winged eyeliner, done in the most unconventional of ways (It happens to the best of us). I hope you’ve all got a great week ahead of you and are looking forward to the 14th as much as I am. Here’s the Backstory: As the self-confessed coffee addicts me and my partner are, we head to our favourite local cafe ‘Zealand Road’, come rain or sunshine. When the coffee calls, we come running- even if it means we forget to do our eye do’ in the process. This means that once the hot brew’s hit our lips, we calm down and sneak a look at our reflection in the cafe windows; gasp and appalled- we look naked. Eyes have a tendency to do that, don’t they? Looking tired and naked… Quick, we need to get them dressed!

This is my ‘everyday’ eye-makeup. It’s the little black dress of eye do’s. It’s the basic staple, my holy grail and after years of road-testing I have found my perfect fit. It’s what always makes me feel confident; the foundation of techniques that I build on for any other makeup look. From here, I can go Anywhere.

jamie-sofia-johansson-sparklefromwords-febuary-2014-beauty-2

1. For everyday, or on-the-go, I start off with my go-to eye-shadow to create definition.

Using the shadow brush by H&M, run Cork by MAC through the crease, blending outwards and upwards just underneath the brow bone. Deposit the same colour in a sweeping motion underneath the lower lash line.

jamie-sofia-johansson-sparklefromwords-febuary-2014-beauty-10jamie-sofia-johansson-sparklefromwords-febuary-2014-beauty-9jamie-sofia-johansson-sparklefromwords-febuary-2014-beauty-13

2. The eyeliner I’ve been using lately is the Extreme 24h Felt Tip Liner  by Collection2000 (£2.99). It’s fantastic for creating precise lines, even on-the-go, as I’ve done outside here. It lasts all day so I won’t have to worry about it smudging yet it comes off easily with warm water (which is always a plus!).

Top Tip: Create the perfect wing by starting with the actual wing– here’s where a felt tip is brilliant!
Draw a thin line following the curve into the upper lashline. Draw a second line along the lash line with steady pressure to create a sleeker line. By doing the steps in this order you can build the thickness of the liner much easier, to personal preference.

jamie-sofia-johansson-sparklefromwords-febuary-2014-beauty-3jamie-sofia-johansson-sparklefromwords-febuary-2014-beauty-11

3. Once you have the thickness of your line, simply fill in any gaps for increased intensity. Voilà!

jamie-sofia-johansson-sparklefromwords-febuary-2014-beauty-12jamie-sofia-johansson-sparklefromwords-febuary-2014-beauty-4

Leave a Reply

