Fitness & Health

Fitness Progress Talk

20140111-200001.jpgThis post was first published earlier today on my Instagram (@jamiesofia).

PROGRESS PHOTO TIME, Disclaimer: this is my latest progress photo, taken this morning after my hot water+lemon but before breakfast so I’m not bloated (which I am almost every day, time to change up the diet soon!)

My friend IG: @matildichjust put up an amazing photo of her progress and my initial thought was how gorgeous she looked and how i could never look like that, I mean she’s tall and I’m about 10 apples high, and naturally my stomach is also full of stretchmarks post-pregnancy! Here’s the thing, I’m not one to put myself down or compare myself to others but as of today I haven’t been to the gym in almost a month, I haven’t been strict with my diet over the holiday but I am getting back there- and there’s where the MAGIC lies.

I may not be perfect and although I had a slight knock to my confidence when I did something so SILLY as checking my IG this morning, I am really and TRULY proud of myself and my workout progress. I have worked hard for what I have and if you’re not happy with something, if you feel down or your confidence is far from on an all-time high then be prepared to Work For It!

Bottom line is, everyone has their ‘off-days’ where it’s hard to see exactly how far you’ve actually come. An issue a lot of people are bringing up these days is ‘looking to others, role models or not, and trying to motivate or set goals for yourself‘. It’s absolutely nothing wrong in doing so as Motivation comes from looking at things You Want as long as you Realise what it actually Takes To Get There.

Here’s the honest truth: Motivation and #fitspo will indeed get you started but it’s only DEDICATION that will get you RESULTS.

Do check out my amazing and gorgeous friend @matildich and believe me when I say that she’s worked hard and sweated for her results, and I’ve not only got a lot of respect for her, I’m also incredibly proud of my girl.

Lastly I’d like to share a quote by Louise Hay, who said “You’ve been criticising yourself for years and it hasn’t worked.. Try approving of yourself and see what happens”.

PS: there is no edit done to these photos in terms of colour and size, but I DID Sharpen the foreground whilst Blurring out the background so it’s more obvious where everything goes. My stomach does still look strange in a side view, but as a lot of you might be aware of this is what happens to many bodies during pregnancy. I had my son the 21st o June 2013 so he’s now 6 1/2 months. I’ve still got a lot of ‘recovery time’ to go through as my belly button is far from back to it’s original shape.

20140111-195347.jpg20140111-195402.jpg20140111-195409.jpg

2 thoughts on “Fitness Progress Talk

  1. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

  2. May I simply say what a comfort to discover someone that genuinely understands what they
    are talking about on the internet. You actually understand how to
    bring a problem to light and make it important.
    More and more people should look at this and understand this
    side of the story. I can’t believe you’re not more
    popular since you surely possess the gift.

Leave a Reply

