Fitness & Health

Squat Challenge Results

A few days ago I posted on my Instagram the journey so far, including progress pictures, of my 30 day squat challenge. I wrote of how I was then 18 days in (So today is day 20! WOO!!) and that before I started I did a trustworthy -or so I thought- Google search on ‘30 day squat challenge before and after‘ images. I am disappointed to report my weak outcome: there was not many before and after pictures, sure, there were lots of lovely looking ‘behinds’, but I’m pretty certain none of them were sculpted through the 30 day squat challenge, unfortunately.

I did the search to gain enough motivation to push through the 30 days as the squats do increase daily until the finish line- a whopping 250 squats. It is important to mention that the squats are a daily amount and needs to be performed in a day, but they’ll be broken up into the sets and reps most suitable to you as an individual. The most important thing is that they get completed, weather spread out over the day or not.

30-day-squat-challenge-jamiesofia-sparklefromwords-wordpress

For all you out there who have been thinking of giving the squat challenge ago, here are my ‘before’ and ‘during’ pictures – the during ones are taken on day 18.

I’d like to add that personally my hamstrings have become tight when doing these, so a nice stretch is always welcome. Surprisingly though, I did not expect much of a result as I have not once felt even the slightest pain in my actual glutes (buttocks) which made me doubt I’d see results – believe me, I am as shocked as you! – and that’s the reason why I took these pictures; to detect even the slightest improvement that would make it worth it to keep going towards Day 30And I believe I found a pretty good reason, don’t you?

So to all you out there with little-moderate hope: keep going! Eat clean, train mean and it will all be golden 😉

lots of love, mwah xx

30-day-squat-challenge-before-and-after-jamiesofia 30-day-squat-challenge-before-and-after-jamiesofia-2

49 thoughts on “Squat Challenge Results

  1. Hi and sorry for the mistake I use google translation ( And yes I ‘m you from France ) I would ask you how many centimeters ( inches) you have lost in the thigh levels for I ‘d like to lose 2pouce = 5cm . This place …. you Whaoo its breathtaking results …

  2. Pingback: 9-Day Cleanse Programme + Result Update | Sparkle & Spackle

  3. Thank you so much for this. I’m at Day 15. Halfway through! Yay! And I’m so happy that you mentioned you didn’t feel it in your buttocks cause I don’t too, and this post reassured me. Thank you.

    But one thing though, I was kinda wondering if you posted pictures after finishing the challenge?

    • Hi Clara,

      Keep going- you can absolutely do this!
      Unfortunately I never got around to posting pictures once I finished the challenge as my phone broke that time (which is why I am so happy I at least put these up!)
      I am onto new and greater heights but still continuing my fitness journey so come along for the ride- and good luck with your goals! Please keep me updated on how you’re getting on, hun 😀 xx

    • Hi sweetheart,
      Thank you for taking the time to comment- I’ve been feeling like giving up and have had a long break from the blog but comments like this make me want to get back into it again. I really do hope you keep inspired and motivated- have you gotten a another week underway? Please share your updates and how you’re getting on. Keep pushing, but most of all enjoy it!
      Take care xx

  4. oh-my-god!!!!!! It’s amazing that it worked for your cellulite too I didn’t know that !!!!!!!! Please tell me, did you do anything else to get rid of cellulite during these days or it is just an outcome of squats? I have a very hard time with cellulite 😦 So I would appreciate if you could tell me what else you did, thank you for this super-motivatinal post!!!
    xoxo

    • Hi sweet, thank you so much for taking the time to comment.
      Cellulites are hard, and I’ve battled with them for as long as I can remember. Here I wasn’t doing anything else than the squats but the reduction of excess fat and stimulation from the exercises increased my blood circulation and it really helped. To be honest with you, I still have cellulites too and from because I haven’t been as consistent but they are nowhere near as bad as they were after I had my son. These days what’s helped keep them at bay is having a clean(er) diet and body brushing. A huge tip is body brushing and I bought one from TK Maxx for £3.99 which I use in upward strokes/circular motions, starting at my calfs and working up over my legs, other thighs and buttocks. I do this almost daily and my skin is so much smoother. It might be a bit TMI but I’d like to be helpful as I understand the hardship; it has also helped with ingrown hairs and stretchmarks on my thighs and stomach. Let me know if there are anything else you’d like me to answer, and thank you again for stopping by. 🙂

      Good luck and have a lovely day xxx

    • Hello sweetheart, thank you for finding me. I’m so happy I’ve been able to provide some inspiration. Correct me if I’m wrong, but you should be almost 2/3rd through now? How are you getting on lovely? 🙂 xx

    • Hello, sweet. Sorry for the late reply!

      I can’t say much for your exact results but I did split mine up on days where I couldn’t do them all at once. If you feel like you need a break, then by all means take one- you’re clearly working your muscles hard enough. The main thing to think of is your technique.

      Firstly, make sure your knees do not go over your toes as you squat.
      Secondly, stick your bum out and raise your torso up- seriously- it might feel funny at first, but it really helps to isolate the movement and help you feel the burn.
      Thirdly, squat low. ‘Ass to the Grass’ was not invented for no reason. Go as low as you can as your glutes have several muscles and the lower you go, the more muscles will get ‘activated’ by the movement.
      Lastly, squat slow and power up. Try doing a count of three as you squat down and really focus on the movement. Then, shoot straight up and tense your glutes/buttocks as you get to standing- immediately lower down for the count of three and repeat.

      I hope that helps and thank you for finding me 🙂 xo

  5. I just wanted to say that I was looking at the comments and I’m blown away by how kind and thorough you are with each of your replies. (Also I really appreciate this post–this was the inspiration I needed to start and finish the 30 day challenge!)

    • Hi Erika,

      I’ve been AWOL on the blog for the past few months due to moving house, work etc. but I am definitely getting back into it for 2015. (This is why I have been taking about a century to reply).

      I want to say ‘of cooourse’ I answer because to me, my tiny little readership are the best thing about blogging- talking and communication with people and if someone, like yourself, take time to comment I will sure as h*ck (I don’t actually think that’s a swear word?) answer 😉

      So, THANK YOU for taking the time to comment and writing such lovely words. How are you getting on- did you make a start? If so, I suspect you would be about half way through by now. If not, DO! (… and update me on how you’re getting on, please).

      🙂 xo

  6. THIS is my inspiration image! My “before” looks almost identical to yours. Any time I think about giving up, I’m going to look at your before/after shot 🙂

  7. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers
    and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done
    a marvellous job!

  8. These upgrades are really where this sports management sim is won and lost, by giving
    your team the best tools to improve. For me Leading Eleven Hack into Major 14 footballing administrator Tokens hack
    into major eleven hack into generator parades coupled person’s
    pavement and male lake back. ” Did the chance of elimination scare her into a reality check.

  9. You’re so awesome! I dont suppose I’ve discovered anything like this before.
    So pleasant to find any individual with some authentic ideas on this subject.
    really thank you for opening this up. this
    website is a thing that is desired online, someone with a little bit creativity.
    very helpful job for bringing something new to
    the online world!

  10. magnificent put up, very informative. I wonder
    why the opposite experts of this sector don’t understand this.

    You must proceed your writing. I’m confident, you have a huge readers’ base already!

  11. He also lled the Warhawks in rushing with 441 yards and 7 touchdowns.
    You have 3 pages to put content on, whatever you like.
    to increase your Sphere of Influence is too promote
    your Advo – Care Business On the internet.

  12. Is it the same person? I can’t believe it . The result is so impressive. I will start the 30 days squat challenge tomorrow .

  13. This is super inspiring! And I did not know that you can break up the total number of squats for the day, thats why I never did the challenge because I would die just doing 50 squats at once! I never understood how could someone do hundreds of squats : ) Thank you! I will start this challenge RIGHT NOW! Its a monday anyway, and we all know everything has to start on mondays ; )

  14. OmG congratulations i’m soo happy for you from my deeep heart 😀 My butt not too small but i want it more bigger 😀 SO CAN YOU PLZ TELL ME DID YOU LIFT During your workouts or just doing the 30 challenge squats without lifting AND What to eat ?? please help me i will be so happyyyy because of you my wedding also soo soon and i wish to get better verision of myself thank you so much ❤

  15. Greetings from Finland!:) I started my squat challenge 22 days ago (the one in which you do 300 squats on day 30) and I was just searching how many I should do today when I found your amazing before and after images. Nice job! You have lost so much cellulite and your butt looks perky! I also had a little cellulite when I started, my butt had no shape at all and even my skintone on my legs was a little greyish.. now I can’t see any cellulite when I’m standing, my thighs are toned and skin is healthier 🙂 (no need for firming lotions here!) And of course, I could say I have a butt now!
    I also haven’t felt any pain in my glutes while doing this – only a few first days my hamstrings were burning but when I just kept on doing my squats and stretched my muscles properly afterwards I had no more pains. 🙂
    I’d recommend to do the squats at once, or split them in half and have 1-2 min active rest in between. It helps you build endurance and the result is worth a little sweating. Time should not be an issue, if you have the time to sit and watch tv you will have time to do your squats. Good luck to everyone who are gonna try this 🙂
    And thanks to you for sharing your results!:-)

  16. Great article.. i am on day 5 of this challenge and i can feel it working already. Not noticed a huge difference as yet but hearing your story and seeing your photo’s have motivated me to keep going. Huge thanks for putting your pics up for us all to see. Very brave of you but you have motivated a lot of us to keep going. And you look amazing…. I am on day 5 and after seeing your amazing end results i will keep going till the end of the 30 days…. Keep up the great blogging. Xxx

    http://Www.nijimagazine.com (get in touch with these guys hun)

  17. Great article.. i am on day 5 of this challenge and i can feel it working already. Not noticed a huge difference as yet but hearing your story and seeing your photo’s have motivated me to keep going. Huge thanks for putting your pics up for us all to see. Very brave of you but you have motivated a lot of us to keep going. And you look amazing…. I am on day 5 and after seeing your amazing end results i will keep doing till the end of the 30 days…. Keep up the great blogging. Xxx

    http://Www.nijimagazine.com (get in touch with these guys hun)

  18. Hey! I just started the 30 day challenge 3 days ago and i was looking for some REAL photos e yours just pop up. You look pretty great! Hope I’ll get results like you 🙂 Cheers from Portugal.

  19. um you had said that the squats could be spread out through the day as to how it suited you, but had you done it spread throughout the day, and if so roughly how much would you do at a time? (and by the way you look great I never thought it would have that much as a result only eighteen days in xx)

  20. Ok so first I want to say, that I’m glad you’re a real person. Its truly motivational to have someone genuine post an actual before and after pic for the squat challenge. I was getting real worried that all the pics of well rounded cheeks were sculpted by Dr. 90210. Your story is honestly what got me started on the challenge and keeps me going. I’ve always been real self-conscience of my legs and butt because I’ve got waaay too-much-booty-in-the-pants for someone who is only 5′ and I’m constantly embarrassed by my cellulite. I started the challenge 16 days ago and already I see an amazing change in my legs. My butt is looking more shapely and my thighs are beginning to smooth out. I can’t wait to see what Day 30 is going to look like. Thanks for inspiring me!

  21. I normally never post on blogs, but this entry has given me some serious motivation to get back on the exercise wagon… and since I’ve decided to take baby steps, I thought the 30 day squat challenge (as well as a plank challenge) was the way forward. I’m at a 100 squats a day at the moment but I can FEEL a huge difference.

    Anyhow, just wanted to say thank you for sharing your experience (I don’t know if I have enough guts to take a picture of my bottom!)

    Take care and thanks again 🙂

    • Hello sweet, I am so happy it’s inspired you to keep going! As I wrote this was the very first thing I did exercise-wise after I got the clear from my doctor to start working out after pregnancy. Baby steps indeed and remember that everyone starts somewhere, it’s just the will to keep going that defines us.

      I can’t wait to hear about your results and thank you so much for taking time to comment. Good luck, have fun and feel the burn! 😉 xxx

  22. Hi there Jamie

    I saw your results with the 30 day squat challenge and was wondering , did you use any weights and was it the only program you were doing with those results? I’m asking because your results has inspired me to do it and keep at it , I have been looking online to find results , but there isn’t actually any realistic ones.

    • Hi Amanda!

      Yes it was the only thing I did, apart from a bit of Yoga on occasion (Search Erin Motz on youtube, she’s brilliant!) – and that’s it.

      The reason why I only did these two things then was because I’d literally just gotten the ‘clear’ from the doctor to start exercise post-pregnancy and didn’t feel that I could handle anything too vigorous.

      Good luck darling and please do let me know how you get on! Xxx

      PS: I only used weight for the first few days, until I hit around 70 squats, and the weight was my little baby of around 5kg. After 70 squats I found it too difficult to continue holding him so I plowed on with just my body weight. Again, Good Luck!

  23. did you get these results only in 18 days with 30 day squat challenge ? wow! I’m amazed ! you look great! I can see you lost cellulite on your thighs and fat around pelvis. Nice transformation.

    • Thank you, sweet? I did indeed. The cellulite is probably what I’m the happiest about, and I must admit- I was so happy by day 18 that I didn’t make it to day 30. I started going to the gym for the very first time a week ago, so will definitely keep the squatting up: but I’m going to try them with weights and fewer reps! Let me know if you’re doing the squat challenge, I’d love to see how you get on too :’D take care xxx

      • Hi, I’m from Poland and I was searching for 30 day squats challenge pictures “before and after” and yours were in google images. I visited this site and you gave me huge motivation. I also drink pu-erh tea, cayenne pepper and grapefruit juice- it boosts slimming effects, and of course no sweets and carbohydrates, my diet is 1500-1700 kcal/day. Today I made first 50 squats but I’m not tired because I exercise every day with this lady http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbZs9Dp4E-s (the language is polish but her exercises are based on Jillian Michaels and others) and I lost 4 kg in 9 days:) I’ll follow you:) Best regards, Natalia

        • Hi there sweetheart. How are you doing, Natalia?

          I’m replying now because it’s been a week since you wrote this and I’d like to see how you get on. Have you managed to do your squats? Just keep going because you’re already 25% of the way, hun.

          It seems like you’re doing fab and are well researched in terms of reaching a goal specific to you. I’d love to start drinking grapefruit juice as I had a slight addiction to grapefruit during pregnancy but always found them so tricky to peel, haha. Any tips?

          i’m also laying off sugar but I do have a sweetener in normal coffee or the odd cup of ordinary tea, apart from that my recipe’s don’t call for anything sweet so I never feel like I’m missing out. I don’t count calories at all but I’m impressed that you’re working hard- stay at it and it’ll be so worth it, I’m sure.

          I checked out the video and although they’re in polish it seems like effective and great home workouts to incorporate in any routine. As I said earlier, keep going- you’re doing amazingly well sweetheart! xx

Leave a Reply

